A False Start

My first research trip was to the source of the Shannon, The Shannon Pot. We loaded up the car – baby, husband, photographer friend – and made the two hour trek to Co. Cavan. The weather was pretty bad when we left Kildare, and steadily grew worse and worse the further north we got. By the time we found the car park at Log na Sionna, The Shannon Pot, the rain was so heavy we could barely see out of the car. I attempted to open my door, but the wind whipped it out of my hands and I struggled to slam it closed.

“Eh, lads, I don’t think we can get out of the car”.

It had to be me who said it, the poor lads didn’t want to suggest it. So, my first trip to the Shannon became my first trip to the lovely Slieve Russell Hotel in Co. Cavan, for a lazy lunch by the fire.

On the way home we heard on the radio that it was the windiest day on record for Belturbet Co. Cavan!

The research would have to wait for another, less windy, day.

The Shannon Pot on a slightly better day

The Shannon Pot on a slightly better day

Leave a Reply

